Welcome to the Table

Pull up a seat. Thanks so much for stopping by and checking out my blog.

I am a student at Purdue University studying Agribusiness Marketing and Agricultural Communications. As one of my electives for communications, I am taking COM 407. This course focuses on mass communications, and we are challenged to keep a blog throughout the semester.

img_5095
Enjoying a meal at my favorite restaurant in my hometown, Taxman Brewery in Bargersville, Indiana.

Food has been a large part of my life growing up on my family’s farm, Red Barn Farms. As I reflect on the past 21 years of my life, every special memory with my family and friends is stamped by having good food involved. Last spring semester, I spent four months studying abroad in Italy. The slow, relaxed and food- centered culture helped me to gain a greater appreciation for food.

I now consider myself a foodie. You may be asking yourself, “What the heck is a foodie?” Merriam-Webster defines a foodie as a person having an avid interest in the latest food fads. Throughout the semester, I hope you join me at the table while exploring and experiencing foods here at Purdue and within the greater Lafayette community.

From a student’s perspective we will explore new places to eat, affordable and easy recipes, events around campus and much more foodie fun. It’s a pleasure to welcome you to the table and to chat about what’s cooking at Purdue. Come back, stay awhile and join me in this adventure.

Leave a Reply

